Lamont Extends Yet Another Executive Order Concerning Travel Advisories

Governor Lamont signs 62nd executive order to mitigate the spread of COVID-19
Governor Lamont today signed another executive order – the 62nd since he enacted the emergency declarations – that builds upon his efforts to encourage mitigation strategies that slow down transmission of the virus. Executive Order No. 7III enacts the following provisions:
• Repeal of advisory self-quarantine: Repeals Executive Order No. 7BBB, Section 1.
• Mandatory self-quarantine for travelers from states with high COVID-19 infection levels: Implements a mandatory self-quarantine for travelers from states with high infection or test positivity rates for COVID-19. This includes requiring affected travelers to complete a form upon entry into Connecticut for submission to the Department of Public Health. Failure to comply with the order may result in a $1,000 penalty.
• Extension of statutory or regulatory deadlines by DMV: Permits the commissioner of the Department of Motor Vehicles to extend statutory or regulatory deadlines pertaining to matters under her jurisdiction for 90 days.
Regional travel advisory expands to 31 states with high COVID-19 infection rates
The regional travel advisory between Connecticut, New Jersey, and New York that went into effect last month and directs incoming travelers from states with a significant community spread of COVID-19 to self-quarantine for a 14-day period was updated today and now includes a total of 31 states. Ten states have been added to the list (Alaska, Delaware, Indiana, Maryland, Missouri, Montana, North Dakota, Nebraska, Virginia, and Washington) and one state has been removed (Minnesota).
The quarantine applies to any person arriving from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or a state with a 10 percent or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.
As of today, the list of 31 states meeting this criteria includes:
• Alaska
• Alabama
• Arkansas
• Arizona
• California
• Delaware
• Florida
• Georgia
• Iowa
• Idaho
• Indiana
• Kansas
• Louisiana
• Maryland
• Missouri
• Mississippi
• Montana
• North Carolina
• North Dakota
• Nebraska
• New Mexico
• Nevada
• Ohio
• Oklahoma
• South Carolina
• Tennessee
• Texas
• Utah
• Virginia
• Washington
• Wisconsin
This list will continue to be updated on a regular basis as the situation develops across the country. Anyone seeking the most up-to-date information on the regional travel advisory is encouraged to visit the state’s coronavirus website at
Governor Lamont encourages residents to sign up for the state’s CTAlert notification system
Governor Lamont is encouraging Connecticut residents to sign up for CTAlert, the state’s emergency alert system, which provides text message notifications to users. To subscribe, text the keyword COVIDCT to 888-777.
Providing information to Connecticut residents
For the most up-to-date information from the State of Connecticut on COVID-19, including an FAQ and other guidance and resources, residents are encouraged to visit
Individuals who have general questions that are not answered on the website can also call 2-1-1 for assistance, or text CTCOVID to 898211. The hotline is available 24 hours a day and has multilingual assistance. Anyone who is out-of-state or requires a toll-free number can connect to Connecticut 2-1-1 toll free by dialing 1-800-203-1234. This is intended to be used by individuals who are not experiencing symptoms but may have general questions related to COVID-19. Anyone who is experiencing symptoms are strongly urged to contact their medical provider.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top